Shray Yoga


The practice of Ashtanga Vinyasa yoga is divided into four sequences namely :

  1. Primary Series /Yoga Chikitsaa
  2. Intermediate Series/Nadi Shodhana
  3. Advanced Series A /Sthira Bhaaga I
  4. Advanced Series B/Sthira Bhaga II

Different schools of Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga follow a slightly different sequence of Asanas.

We will follow the sequence of asanas as taught by Yogacharya shri Vijaya Kumar

The sequences are designed in such a way that the previous asana becomes the stepping stone for the next asana, therefore it is always prudent to listen to the teacher and stop at a particular asana whenever teacher says so in order to avoid injuries. With a sincere approach and zeal, everybody can learn the asanas in due time.

Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga focuses on three broad parameters during the asana practice namely:

1. Gazing/Drishti 2. Locks /Bandhas 3. Ujjayi /Unjaayi Breathing/shvaasa

The gaze helps in developing the focus of the mind. The bandhas help in making the body lighter and facilitate the energy flow in the body. The Ujjayi breathing produces heat in the blood and helps in the removal of toxins from the body along with the sweat.

During the practice, one should always be aware of the sensations that asanas and vinyasa produce in the body and should develop a habit of listening to the body and practice with mindfulness. Therefore, one must develop strength and flexibility in incremental manner rather than exponential manner.